# **Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) on Hydrocarbons**

### **Mission:**

Scientific Advisory Committee on Hydrocarbon was constituted by Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas in 1981 to promote application of science and technology in the Hydrocarbon sector (Excluding upstream sector).

# **Objective:**

- i. To identify and promote development of technologies related to hydrocarbons for productions of fuels and feed stocks for chemicals and petrochemicals.
- ii. To ensure optimum processing of hydrocarbons raw material for use as fuels and chemicals.
- iii. To ensure reduction in carbon footprint of hydrocarbon sector and energy efficient operations.
- iv. To promote application of alternate energy sources in hydrocarbon sector.
- v. To identify long term technological needs of hydrocarbon sector.
- vi. To facilitate collaborative research programmes among oil and gas organizations and other stake holders.
- vii. To examine and deliberate on R&D project proposals submitted by various R&D organizations and academic institutions for funding by OIDB through Centre for High Technology (CHT).
- viii. To formulate mechanism for demonstration and fast track commercialization of indigenously developed technologies.
- ix. To promote dissemination of information on latest developments in hydrocarbon sector.

# **Composition of the committee:**

Headed by Former Chairman, Atomic Energy commission (AEC) as Chairman and includes Members and Ex-officio Members from Academia/Institutes and Oil Industry. Permanent invitees are Joint Secretary (Refineries), Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas (MoP&NG) and Head (R&D) from Oil sector. The Chairman also invite any other person(s) to attend the meeting of the Committee or to assist the Committee. Special Invitees are representatives from Ministry of New and Renewable Energy (MNRE) and Department of Science &

Technology (DST). The Chairman may as well consider inclusion of major private national/international players in the field for inclusion as invitees, on case-to-case basis.

The minutes of SAC meetings are not accessible to public.

# **Safety Council (SC) on Oil Industry Safety**

# **Objective:**

Safety council is the apex body on safety formed vide Ministry of Petroleum resolution dated 10.01.1986 to ensure proper implementation of the various aspects of safety in the Oil and Gas Industry.

### **Composition of the committee:**

Headed by Secretary of Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas (MoP&NG) as Chairman and includes Additional Secretary, Financial Advisor and Joint Secretaries of MoP&NG, Chief executives of PSU Oil and Gas industry, Heads of statutory and advisory bodies, Nominated Board Member of Petroleum and Natural Gas Regulatory Board, Nominated member from Member Secretary, National Disaster Management Authority, Nominated member from Directorate General of Shipping, Nominated member from Director General of Indian Coast Guard, Director, Indian Institute of Petroleum, Director General, Federation of Indian Petroleum Industry, and Chief executives from private/JV Oil and Gas companies as Members. ED-Oil Industries Safety Directorate (OISD) is the Member Secretary of Safety Council.

The minutes of Safety Council (SC) meetings are not accessible to public.